MMTC Disruption & Opportunity

 Technology   Wed, July 04, 2018 07:30 PM

Washington, DC - Join MMTC for the 16th Annual Access to Capital and Telecom Policy (#MMTC18) Conference on July 19th at Hogan Lovells Conference Center in Washington, DC. This year's theme is "Turning Disruption into Opportunity."

During the #MMTC18 Conference, media and telecom industry experts, innovators, and investors will discuss the latest developments in tech accountability, online privacy, diversity, the future of work, innovative financing, spectrum, and next generation technology and opportunities for smart cities and entrepreneurs.

Hon. Mignon Clyburn, the first woman FCC chair and the first African American woman commissioner, will receive the Everett C. Parker Lifetime Achievement Award during the FCC Commissioners' Awards Luncheon.

Also, the MMTC Media and Telecom Brokers will host an Innovation Forum to discuss how broadcasting, cable, and OTT can be reimagined.

Confirmed Speakers

(As of 6/29/18)


Raul Alarcon , Chairman and CEO, Spanish Broadcasting System

Hon. Brendan Carr, Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission

Hon. Emanuel Cleaver, II, Co-Chair, Tech Accountability Caucus; Member, U.S. House of Representatives

Hon. James Clyburn, Member, U.S. House of Representatives

Hon. Mignon L. Clyburn, Former Acting Chairwoman and Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission

Melody Cooper, President, Midway Broadcasting - WVON, Chicago 

William Michael Cunningham, Founder, Creative Investment Research; Managing Partner, National Crowdfunding Services

Donna Epps, Vice President of Public Policy and Strategic Alliances, Verizon

Ari Fitzgerald, Partner, Hogan Lovells; Secretary, MMTC Board of Directors

Maurita Coley Flippin, Acting President and CEO, MMTC

Debbie Goldman, Research Director and Telecommunications Policy Director, Communications Workers of America

Jessica Herrera-Flanigan, Executive Vice President, Univision

Rebecca Hunter, External Affairs, Corporate Development and Strategy, Crown Castle

Dr. Ronald Johnson, Commissioner, Fairfax County Economic Development Authority; Director and Treasurer, MMTC Board of Directors

Deborah Lathen, Former Cable Bureau Chief, Federal Communications Commission; President, Lathen Consulting LLC; Member, MMTC Board of Directors

Nicolaine Lazarre, Esq., President, MMTC Broadcasting; General Counsel and Senior Vice President, National Urban League

DuJuan McCoy, Owner, President, and CEO, Bayou City Broadcasting

Ron Marlow, Vice President for Workforce Development, National Urban League

Francisco Montero, Partner, Fletcher Heald & Hildreth; Member, MMTC Board of Directors

Maureen Murat, CEO, Crowdie Advisors

Hon. Michael O'Rielly, Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission

Spencer Overton, President, Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies

Hon. Ajit Pai, Chairman, Federal Communications Commission (Via Video)

Aaron Saunders, Chief Executive Officer, Inclusive Innovation Incubator (In3)

Rikin Thakker, Ph.D., Vice President of Telecommunications and Spectrum Policy, MMTC

S. Jenell Trigg, Member, Lerman Senter PLLC; Member, MMTC Board of Advisors

Sanford Williams, Director, Office of Communications Business Opportunities (OCBO), Federal Communications Commission 

James Winston, Esq., President, National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters (NABOB)

Contact: 202-332-0500